Remembering Pete Seeger

When I was around 12 I requested this song on a radio station and they played it, announcing my name. It was one of the most exciting moments of my young musical life.

It wasn’t until today that I realized Pete Seeger originally wrote it for the Weavers.

I think I loved every song I heard him sing, and every song he wrote, but I have none of his records. My first folksong records were by Joan Baez. I remember my mother being so surprised that I liked that “old-fashioned music” – surprised and so heartened by this that she dragged out some old dark pink Burl Ives records – but no Pete Seeger. He would have been too revolutionary for her, even though he sang his counter-cultural songs so sweetly.

Here are three of my favorites:

I suppose every generation thinks their music is the best, but I’m not sure how you can beat his optimistic lyrics, his friendly voice telling us there’s a season for everything; we can hammer out justice, freedom and love; and, someday, we’ll overcome.

There was a season for Pete Seeger; now it’s gone.

This entry was posted in music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

