Mea culpa

Okay, I’ve been feeling bad about that last sentence in that last post, about how if you’re Catholic it’s important not to think too much. It was snarky and ill-considered, but the main problem with it is that it confuses two separate realms. I’ve written about this before: you can’t think your way into religious belief. Faith and reason are two different animals.

My problem is I’m just too firmly ensconced in the reason camp. I’m like Thomas: show me the wounds, and I’ll believe. I’m envious of people who don’t need this proof, who really believe there’s a god up there waiting for them, along with all their resurrected relatives. What troubles me, though, is the certainty many religious people have that they are right – not only about their god but about what other people should be doing and not doing. That was my experience with Catholic priests, and that’s where my snarkiness comes from.

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mea culpa

  1. Curt says:

    I really think you’re trying to lure me in, but still I can’t resist…I don’t think it’s about “faith,” which I can make no sense of – never could. I would say belief comes from “the reason of accumulated felt experience.” I could go on…but this is not the place…and there’s work to be done.

Leave a Reply

