Welcome Townsend James, but really it’s all about me

I became a Great Aunt yesterday. It was really quite easy: I went to bed, went to sleep, woke up, and there he was: Townsend James Lippincott.

I had two Great Aunts: Aunt Sarah and Aunt Cecie. They lived together; never married. Their Christmas tree was in a hot sunroom, decorated with German ornaments even older than they were. When my mother left me alone with them, they didn’t quite know what to do with me. We looked at the tree, and they fed me musty-tasting licorice candies from little tins.

They had some trouble walking, and sat around in chairs a lot. They smelled kind of musty, maybe from all the licorice.

Becoming a Great Aunt was easy. Feeling like a Great Aunt is going to take some work.

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, My so-called-life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome Townsend James, but really it’s all about me

  1. Phoebe says:

    Mama–
    Isn’t his name Townsend James???? Eric is the father’s name!!

    Phoebe

Leave a Reply

