Obama, basketball, and healthcare reform

So I’m reading a British blog I like for its perspective on our weird country, and come across a basketball video with a headline I don’t understand: “clinton vs obama 2008.” It featured a basketball player named Clark Kellogg I’ve never heard of, which isn’t surprising because I’ve never heard of most basketball players; and he’s playing Obama in a game called HORSE I’ve also never heard of; and so I decided I’d better watch it and figure some things out.

Turns out it’s very interesting. Obama starts out losing, so badly that it seems the game will be over before he even scores a basket; and then something visibly happens to him: he starts making impossible shots, and finally wins. It is like Obama/Clinton 2008, but it’s also like getting healthcare reform passed. Something changes in him when he’s the underdog.

But the other fascinating thing is how perceptive he is. You’ll have to watch it to see what I mean – it happens right near the end.

This entry was posted in Politics and history and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Obama, basketball, and healthcare reform

  1. Curtis says:

    They were actually playing a derivative form of h-o-r-s-e called p-o-t-u-s, which stands for President of the United States. In both games, if the shooter makes his shot, the other person has to duplicate it or get a letter. First one to finish the word, loses. Were you referring to the “you can’t give me that kind of break” remark by Obama?

    • celebratingtime says:

      yeah, I figured the game out.
      When I said how perceptive he was, yes, I was referring to how he knew Kellogg was missing on purpose. Was this obvious to a sports person? because it wasn’t to me.

Leave a Reply

