Tina

This, oddly, is one of my favorite memories: we’re in her tiny room, doing geometry homework. She’s at her pull-down desk, and I’m on one of the hard built-in beds. We do the proofs separately, and then compare. Usually we’ve both gotten it.

It was so immensely satisfying, working out those proofs. You began at a given point, remembered the theorems, and slowly, carefully, logically, figured it out.

And the best part was, because you used a compass, my drawings looked nearly as good as hers.

Happy birthday, to my friend of the longest years (circumlocution required, as she’s not my friend of the oldest years!).

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, My so-called-life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tina

  1. Tina says:

    Sweet. Thank you!
    I don’t specifically remember doing geometry together. I do remember how I loved having you in that little room, especially when we would laugh and laugh, out of control…just the sheer joy of it…thank you, longest friend!

Leave a Reply

