Spring music

Did they all hear the early-spring birds singing as they came out of the womb? It seems like more famous composers, or at least more of my favorite composers, were born in March than any other month.

There’s Smetana – I really hadn’t heard of him till our German au pair, oddly enough, gave us The Moldau for Christmas, and now I always think of her when I hear it. And my very favorite, Vivaldi; and Villa-Lobos, who usually ends up being the composer of some gorgeous guitar piece I’ve been unable to identify.

Bach, and his son Carl Philipp Emanuel (why did they have to give him so many names?); and Alan Hovhaness, who composed the totally delightful Fred the Cat, which is really nice even if you hate cats; Samuel Barber, mostly known for his Adagio, and known even more as it was the music for Platoon; Telemann, Rimsky-Korsakov, Mussorgsky, and Haydn – all, incredibly, born in March.

And even if you’re not as interested in time as I am, it makes for great listening on the radio

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, Cultural stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring music

  1. Curtis says:

    Hey, don’t forget Elton John, Aretha Franklin and James Taylor — all March!

    • celebratingtime says:

      Yes, but I’m being highfalutin here (even though I did need to look up how to spell highfalutin)

  2. M. says:

    your blog post made me smile…

    i was trying everything last night to get a seven month old (Chloe) to sleep. Finally around 3:00 a.m. I found Lullaby Classics and after listening to Fur Elise (Beethoven), Orchestral Suite No.3 in D (Bach), Waltz No.15 (Brahms) and The Four Seasons (Vivaldi) we both fell asleep, for a few hours.

    She’s now taking a nap after an active morning listening to Baby Dance CD = the French Suite (Bach)and Gayane Suite Sabre Dance by the Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra.

    I’m enjoying her and the music but exhausted, anxious to get home to my Lucy.

Leave a Reply

