My Ash Wednesday mark

A long, long time ago I used to be one of those people walking around with crosses on their foreheads, but I think it didn’t happen till after school. Catechism class was on Wednesday afternoons, and I think they’d take us into the church for special ash-marking. I’m not sure about this, but I can’t quite imagine my mother taking us to church before school just for ashes.

Anyway, it seems quite an odd thing to me now, walking around marked by one’s religion – just as odd as saying “I’m a Christian, so I shovel other people’s sidewalks.”

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, My so-called-life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Ash Wednesday mark

  1. Curtis says:

    I was a wrestler in high school and it seemed like we wrestled Malvern Prep on Ash Wednesday every year. I was totally creeped out to have to wrestle someone with ashes on his forehead. To say nothing of the guilt I felt about beating someone who had already submitted that day to such sacred embarrassment!

Leave a Reply

