Un-courant at Avatar

I thought I wanted to see Avatar because: 1) I’d read about this fascinating new malaise called Avatar Depression, striking people as they leave the movies and realize their regular world is so gray and depressing; 2) I’d heard that Christians were against it, and if Christians are against something it usually means it’s my kind of thing; 3) I was curious about its anti-war, back-to-nature philosophy; 4) A friend had told me the special effects were beautiful.

My conclusions: 1) Avatar Depression (otherwise known as two and a half hours of unrelenting boredom) hit me about five minutes into the movie; 2) I think the Christians missed the scene where the former jarhead hero is strung up like Jesus on the cross, and escapes to save all the tree-worshippers; 3) Tree-worshippers about sums it up; 4) I think you have to see it in Imax.

The only good thing about it was the line: “We’re going to fight terror with terror.” It took so long for our hero to kill the guy who uttered it, though, that I had to stumble out early, past all the people in my row with their dorky 3D glasses, out into the beautiful real world.

And yes, I also thought I’d be so au courant if I saw it. I’ve moved on. Right now I’m playing “Words with Friends” (the iPhone app, for the less courant) with Diego from Florida.

This entry was posted in Cultural stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Un-courant at Avatar

  1. Tina says:

    thank you for checking out Avatar! Yuk. I’ve been looking for an good reason not to see it.

Leave a Reply

