Staying alive

“Her personality is hardening; her world is becoming smaller.”

That’s how Chip once described an older friend of mine, after I complained about her fixed opinions and her unwillingness to change.

It was sad, and it was true.

In hospice work, you see people in the stages of getting ready to die. At first, they tell you about their families and ask questions about you; you watch TV with them and talk about what’s happening in the world. Then, quite quickly, their attention becomes circumscribed by the room they’re in. At the end, if they’re conscious, they barely know you’re there.

But this friend of mine wasn’t dying. She was just getting older.

I don’t want to be that way. It’s why I got an iPhone and why I listen to rock music and why I want to see Avatar in 3D, even though I hate science fiction movies.

I want to be au courant, right up until I’m ready to die.

But I guess this means I have to write about politics again.

This entry was posted in Cultural stuff, Death, My so-called-life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Staying alive

  1. Tina says:

    you are adorable

Leave a Reply

