The new me

If you don’t read a newspaper or political blogs, watch the news, or talk to anybody who does these things, you can just live your own life in ignorance of the people who don’t have jobs or health care or the bankers who are just as rich as ever or the lives America has ruined in Iraq and Afghanistan. You can stop worrying about why Obama doesn’t take stronger stands, or what will happen in 2012, or how all the disasters wrought by Bush have come to be Obama’s fault.

There was a time, believe it or not, when I didn’t pay too much attention to politics. I’d skip political articles – I’d decided I didn’t need to understand the issues, or where anyone stood on them, because it was all going to change anyway.

I’m going to go back to being that person. I’ll be more boring, but much calmer.

This entry was posted in My so-called-life, Politics and history and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

