The Circle Game

I woke up in the middle of the night with this song on my mind, the only song by Joni Mitchell I ever really liked (yes, I know this is heresy for a child of the sixties, so maybe Chip is right and I’m not really a baby boomer after all).

And the seasons they go round and round
And the painted ponies go up and down
We’re captive on the carousel of time
We can’t return we can only look
Behind from where we came
And go round and round and round
In the circle game.

Yes, it’s a song that’s right up my alley, but I never realized till I read the lyrics how beautiful the rest of it is:

Yesterday a child came out to wonder
Caught a dragonfly inside a jar
Fearful when the sky was full of thunder
And tearful at the falling of a star

And what she said in her intro here (“Nobody ever said to van Gogh ‘Paint a Starry Night again!’”) is interesting – was she complaining about having to sing it over and over again, at every concert? Or was she just reflecting on the difference between the performing arts, where you have to keep on standing up in front of people, and the more solitary arts, where you paint or write something once and you’re done?

It was a middle of the night epiphany: today marks the end of one year on the carousel of Celebrating Time. And though I’m still stuck on the idea of time, at least I’m no longer captive to those Christian holidays.

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, Cultural stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Circle Game

  1. Don says:

    Bravo! I’m so glad you decided to continue Celebrating Time. (The Circle Game is one of my favorite songs. Tom Rush does a great version of it, as well.)

Leave a Reply

