Pearl Harbor Day

At the beginning of 1941, the Carl L. Norden factory had planned an output of 800 bombsights a month, but the attack on Pearl Harbor caused immediate expansion of the facilities and production. By the end of 1943, nearly 2,000 Norden sights were being turned out monthly.

– from a biography of Carl Norden, by the Norden Retirees Club

And so, I learn today, my brother and I owe our existence to this day of infamy.

In 1941, my father was teaching physics at the University of Pennsylvania, and my mother was a copy editor at an ad agency in New York City. In 1943, Carl Norden expanded the company, opening Norden Labs in lower Manhattan. It was there that my parents met: my father worked on the bombsight, my mother on the Insight, the company paper.

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, My so-called-life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pearl Harbor Day

  1. Don says:

    I was watching Jeopardy tonight and, of all things, one of the answers was: “A device that was claimed to be able to put a bomb in a pickle barrel from 20,000 feet.” Nobody on the show came up with the correct question. Jeopardy was one of Mom’s favorite shows. Thanks for the link to the Norden Retirees Club!

Leave a Reply

