May you be inscribed and sealed for a good year

Growing up, I always wanted to be Jewish. I’m not sure why. I didn’t know very much about it; just that my most interesting friends were Jewish.

This Rosh Hashanah day, though, I have mixed feelings. It’s alarming to think there’s some sort of God up there with books, listing all our names and who will die and who will have a bad year. I know he’s God, but doesn’t his hand get awfully tired? Do you think he has a computer?

And if we have all those Days of Repentance till Yom Kippur to change his mind, why doesn’t he just wait? I guess maybe it’s more efficient, since he wouldn’t have to change the entries for all the non-Jewish people who don’t even know they need to repent during these ten days.

But I really like the idea of all this cleansing and repentance being just between me and God – no priest sitting in his Confessional shadows, listening to my secrets. I think I’ll go dump my pockets in a stream now, and start repenting.

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, God, etc. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May you be inscribed and sealed for a good year

  1. M. Kenny says:

    My 10 year pal Sophie told me today she’s not able to blow the Shofar at temple but her friend Jacob can. Then she said, “I’m starting a new year today, it’s a fresh year Maggie”.

    There’s a Rosh Hashanan story called A Novel Audit where an innkeeper had a unique method of accounting. He had two large notebooks; in one he recorded all his transgressions and misdeeds during the year. Some were quite benign (a word of gossip, ill-temper, etc) yet everything was recorded. At midnight before Rosh Roshanah he sat and read the pages in the first notebook and cried for all his sins.

    Then the innkeeper opened the second notebook, where he recorded all the troubles and misfortunes that happened to him during the year. (Illness, was robbed, fire in his home, etc)

    When he finished reading both notebooks, he raised his eyes and said “so you see, dear Father in Heaven, I have sinned against you. Last year I repented and promised to fullfill your commandments yet succumbed anyway. But last year I also prayed and begged you for a year of health and prosperity. I trusted in you.

    “So Dear Father, today is the eve of Rosh Hashanah, when everyone forgives and is forgiven. Let us put the past behind us. I didn’t always do what was asked of me and you didn’t always do what was asked of you. I forgive you and you forgive me, and we’ll…start fresh”.

  2. Hi,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

Leave a Reply

