September at Saumur

180px-Les_Très_Riches_Heures_du_duc_de_Berry_septembreIt took me a whole semester of college art history to figure out that I couldn’t see what other people saw. To remedy that (and to bring my pathetic grade of “C” up a bit), I wrote down everything the professor said about every slide and memorized it.

I still hate looking at paintings, but the Duc de Berry’s miniatures are a whole different thing. I could look at them forever. Like September – but who knew? Turns out this one is different – someone else, not the Limbourg brothers, completed the foreground!

I probably never would have realized this, but at least I have an excuse. Is that guy really mooning in the middle of the grape harvest?

This entry was posted in My so-called-life, Seasons and weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

