The truth is pretty boring

I’ve given over a hundred fake medical histories in the past several years. I have two sons, no sons, my husband’s dead, I’m a lesbian; I drink a bottle of wine a night, use cocaine at parties, smoke a pack a day; I have headaches every day, untreated diabetes, incurable cancer. I’ve carried in a bag of pill bottles and can’t remember what they’re for, I’m lying in a hospital with chest pains, I’m fine except my husband beats me.

I work as what’s called a “standardized patient” at local med schools, portraying all these conditions so the students can practice.

My real doctor has known me for so long she no longer takes a history. So yesterday at the eye clinic, I had to stop and think. It felt quite odd to tell the truth.

This entry was posted in My so-called-life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The truth is pretty boring

  1. Pingback: Un lavoro strano | Celebrating Time

Leave a Reply

