Neptunalia

I went out to my garden one night last week to see the International Space Station transit overhead. Before it appeared, I kept on mistaking it for a firefly. But then there it was, brighter than Sirius and even the moon, a golden sphere, right on time.

The ancient Romans celebrated Neptune, god of water, on this day. They built huts in their fields from laurel branches, brought picnics, drank spring water, and camped overnight.

I want to do this every night, now that I’ve seen all the sparkling space stations rising up out of my vegetables.

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, My so-called-life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

