God and my schedule

One day when I was around ten or so I woke up and made myself a schedule. In my Girl Scout handbook it told you how to clean a room, and so I was going to clean my room step by step, just like they said. I was so much looking forward to the day.

Then my mother came in and said we had to go to church. It was some holy day of obligation. My day was ruined.

Apparently this little trauma made me who I am today: obsessed with time and organization, and, paradoxically, with the rituals of religion.

This entry was posted in My so-called-life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

