Obama’s defense of marriage

Dear President Obama,

I’ve been trying really hard to give you the benefit of the doubt. I don’t like your position on wiretapping, or on keeping Bush’s secrets secret, or on letting all those lawyers who did Cheney’s bidding go on living their torture-free lives (and I also really hate the way you’ve started calling it “enhanced interrogation techniques”). But I figure you’re a lot smarter than I, and I know you’re working really hard, and, let’s face it, I’ve basically trusted you so far.

But your defense of the Defense of Marriage Act (what a stupid title, for which we have to thank another so-called liberal president) is beyond the pale. I know it wasn’t specifically your defense, but that’s almost worse, because – and I do wonder if you even knew this – some Mormon Bush appointee wrote it.

You said in your campaign that you would repeal this Act. Your White House website says you’re not in favor of a constitutional ban on same-sex marriage. This brief says marriage is not a fundamental constitutional right.

I don’t think you can have it all these ways at once.

And has it ever occurred to you it’s just an accident of genetics that you happened to fall in love with, and thus be able to marry, a woman?

This entry was posted in Politics and history and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

