Ascension Day

I’m trying for the life of me to figure out how anybody could believe in this, and I’ve come to the conclusion that the only way is not to think about it too hard.

I can get to the belief that this man named Jesus existed; that he was wise beyond his time and his years; and that he was crucified. I can even stretch it to believing that his followers, like Mary Magdalene and his apostles, were so much under his spell that they believed they saw him after he died. I mean I do believe people see ghosts – or, better put, that they believe they have seen ghosts.

But that he rose, bodily, into heaven, forty days after he came alive again?

If I did believe this, I’d want to go to one of those churches with a hole in the roof where they take this statue and somehow, with great Broadway stagecraft, make it rise up into the sky.

This entry was posted in Celebrations, festivals, memorials, God, etc. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

