Goodbye Orion

When I was little I would sit in my bedroom with a star chart and a flashlight, trying to pick out constellations. Orion was my favorite, probably because he was so easy to find with his bright star-belt and sword, his two dogs at his side.

He’s a winter constellation, and now, low on the Western horizon at sunset, he’s leaving. He’s still up there, of course, endlessly fighting Taurus, but we, blinded by the sun, can’t see him.

This entry was posted in My so-called-life, Seasons and weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

