Bird by Bird

Bird by bird pic, taken by me (a lilac breasted roller, as common in Botswana as sparrows are here)

I heard Anne Lamott on Studio 360 this morning, and although I have very mixed feelings about Anne Lamott, mostly tending toward extreme dislike, and although she does seem quite odd, with her (white, old lady) dreadlocks and wound-up affectless voice, I did like her book Bird by Bird that advised writers to just do it: just go sit there, in the chair, every day at the same time, and just WRITE.

In other words, stop thinking about Who Cares and How Boring My Life Is and Why Bother and Let’s Just Check Who Has Played Words With Friends and JUST WRITE (even if writing in capitals is way too much like Heather Armstrong of dooce.com, who has her own problems these days anyway).

So here’s a spring solstice resolution: I’m back, at least for a while.

This entry was posted in Little things, My so-called-life, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bird by Bird

  1. terrymarotta says:

    what do you dislike about Anne Lamott. I confine myself to just being shamelessly envious of her :-)

    Hey want to go to Ireland with Dave and me? we can hike and skip all the touristy things …

    • bobbie says:

      She’s very self-preoccupied and self-satisfied. I read her latest book, Some Assembly Required, and there’s really no need for shameless envy.

  2. Curt says:

    Of course you’re back. There’s a critical election to be won, and how will I know what to think of all the strategic moves and counter moves without your insight?

Leave a Reply

